#LLL17

East 17

Well, what can I say about about my day at Lead Learn Lancs.  It started early and ended late but was easily the quickest day of CPD I have ever had as I was in control, I made the choices, I was developing for myself and not a schools needs. @Nathanashman kicked things off with his message of the need to reflect on all aspects.  The important message of stopping, taking stock and plan a route is often shared but rarely seen in action.  Ever had a head say let’s stop doing X, Y & Z?  Engaging, lively with an excellent music quiz (despite @Mr_P_Hillips  never hearing of this tune or knowing who the Housemartins were? – Way to make a man feel old!).  Nathan’s chilled out style set the tone for the day excellently.

First up was @smithsmm  and his workshop on picture books.  Foolishly I went to order dinner and came to the session slightly late.  Sneaking in and finding a cramped corner, I waited listening and trying not to catch the ‘teacher’s eye’ but like all great classroom practitioners Simon paused and allowed me to trample over the poor souls sat on the floor at the front (sorry guys).  Having picture books explained by an expert is a great experience and like all experts he knew snippets of cool knowledge: ‘Rose Blanche’ originally was wordless!  I had a touch of smugness over my talking partner as I knew ‘I’ll Take you to Mrs Cole!’ as well as ‘Rose Blanche’, however ‘The Watertower’ is certainly on order.

Take homes:

  1. Turn up early whenever Simon speaks
  2. Roleplaying in the class – get good at 4 simple ideas and repeat
  3. Explore picture books with all children, any age, all the time

Next was the mysterious @VocabularyNinja  whose session was rooted in making the classroom a word wealthy heaven.  The Ninja explained the reason for their passion for vocab and detailed how important it was to underestimate the children.  Yes, that’s right – doubt the little uns. They don’t know every word you do, in fact the know very few so be vocab vigilant (The Ninja’s mantra) in everything you do.  They followed it up with the fantastic work that has came from other great teachers using their prompts.

Take homes:

  1. Be explicit – tell them the meaning ASAP
  2. Working walls to record those words
  3. Threaten people with instant death if they reveal your secret identity

@teacherwriterPJ  had the pre-dinner slot for me.  I picked this because I’ve never ‘got’ poetry.  There I said it…not my thing, teaching it, reading it, the whole gig so I needed to seek out the advice of someone who is a master.  I’ll mention the scarves cause it is mandatory. It was simple which for someone like myself ideal and gave me hope that I can improve in what is always a chore for me.

Take homes:

  1. Poems are a performance, not to be passive
  2. Juggling scarves is an excellent way to develop motor control
  3. This guy can seriously write – displayed throughout the day

@WatsEd  and outdoor learning was ideal way to follow lunch.  The big man was excellent and I’m basically stealing most of his ideas to do this year such as lego man inspired stories, story stones and turning any outdoor area into a place of learning.  It wasn’t all big project likes wildlife gardens; it was practical ideas you can do on a limit budget with a lack of greenery.

Chalk

Take homes:

  1. Using chalk outdoors to inspire maths
  2. Outdoors learning isn’t just for EYFS
  3. Don’t insult Mike on Twitter as he is a big bloke

@Mr_P_Hillips  was the last of my picks for the day.  My second vocabulary based workshop could have been awkward due a lot of cross over with  @VocabularyNinja   but this wasn’t the case.  As mentioned I have many years on this fella, yet his knowledge of vocab, it’s origins and how to teach it makes me wonder what I have done for the past 12 years (triple marking mostly).  This session was filled with laughter due to Mr P’s quirkiness, quick wit and self deprecation.  I hope at the next event there is a art based workshop for him to attend as his drawing of a lion looked very emancipated (see even my own lexicon has improve – oops, did again).

Mr P

Take homes:

  1. Cobuild is the key
  2. Make words the centre of all you do
  3. He is not the Vocab Ninja or is he??????

The day ended with @Stephen_Logan revisiting the need to reflect and sharing his personal failures to show the way to redefine them to become drivers to succeed.  Advice that resonates hugely with me on a personal level.

The other highlights about the day were handshake with @gazneedle  and witnessing he create a sketchnote on the spot, a draw off with @MissSMerrill  (she didn’t know I was in competition with her mind) and meeting new people, even briefly like @gemmabarber81  . 

Spending the whole day with the big man that is @MrJenningsA  and basically driving the whole lancs on a magical, mystery tour of lost confusion was sound.  This bloke is top drawer and one of those life long teaching pals you develop in the job.

The final word must go to the person who I was in awe of the whole day.  The way this person dealt with slot changes, cancellations, herding teachers and generally being an inspiration was a sight to behold.  Hats off to @FlyMyGeekFlag .

Bloody hell, that’s a long blog for me. Glad I spent the day at LLL17 and hopefully next year I don’t think of East17 during the day (Heard of them Mr P?)

2 thoughts on “#LLL17

Leave a comment