Oscar! Or Twitter Person of the Year.

383599632dd106ddaf0bf8442dcfde79

As part of @redgierob #3tofollow2018 I nominated @cazzash, @missb_teach and @RebeccaLucas due to their general awesomeness in different areas. However I did state I was staying away from the big dogs of Twitter. But since @smithsmm has asked for nominations for Twitter Person of the year I have decided to oblige.

First up is @redgierob, who is a titan of teaching while being a very down to Earth fella. Anyone who is wiling to meet a nobody and share a pint then the next day deliver CPD that actually changes how you teach is a special person indeed.

Next is @chrisdysonHT who welcomed me into his lovely school. I learnt so much off Chris in a single day that it is unfair to compare the experience to normal CPD. What he does for the kids in his care is nothing short of sensational as it is built on genuine love for those children. Make it all about them is the message.

The third nomination goes to @gazneedle. The least showy of the group. More Gregory Peck then Daniel Day-Lewis in Oscar terms. It’s odd declaring Mr Primary Rocks as less showy but it’s true. His understated manner is a measure of why a good  leader he actually is. Plus I went straight home after LLl17 and said that thee Gaz Needle said my book reviews were canny. Little does he know what that meant.

Finally, and in no great shame to the others, the winner. My person of the year. My twitter god. @smithsmm is an inspiration. Not due to his scary knowledge of picture books, or even the fact that he places reading at the centre of all he does. No… It is because of his humility. A pivotal podcast showed that even folk like Simon have found it tough. That the sailing isn’t always easy. After the year I’ve had, hearing that from someone I respect from afar only made me respect him more.

Thank you all… All of Twitter as you don’t really know how much you have helped.

Leave a comment